Honoring the Best and Brightest in Technology

Golden Torch Legacy Award
Colonel Frederick D. Gregory, United States Air Force (Ret.)

Distinguished Engineer of the Year
Capt. Willie L. Metts, U.S. Navy

Lifetime Achievement in Government
Col. Jeffrey T. Butler, Ph.D., U.S. Air Force

Lifetime Achievement in Academia
Minority Engineering Program Director of the Year

Amy L. Freeman, Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University 

Dr. Janice A. Lumpkin Educator of the Year
Mary W. Stroud, Xavier University, Ohio

Graduate Student of the Year
Mike Shinn Distinguished Member of the Year (Female)

Sophoria N. Westmoreland, Doctoral Candidate,University of Maryland, College Park 

Pre-College Initiative Program of the Year
Polytechnic Institute of New York University, Center for Youth in Engineering & Science
Brooklyn, New York

Pre-College Initiative Student of the Year (Male)
Jonathan A. Thompson, Senior, Judson High School, Converse, Texas

Pre-College Initiative Student of the Year (Female)
Sydney S. Steward, Senior, South Mecklenburg High School, Charlotte, N.C.

Pre-College Initiative Director of the Year
Margaret C. Tarver,Advisor, Tri-Cities High School NSBE Jr. Chapter, East Point, Ga.

Entrepreneur of the Year
Paul W. Foster, President/CEO, Foster CM Group, Inc.

Lifetime Achievement in Industry
Kofi A. Mensah, Ph.D., Senior Fellow, General Mills – Riverside Technical Center

Corporate Community Service
Harris Corporation

Corporate/Education Partnership
CPS Energy Distinguished Fellows Program, CPS Energy, Inc.

Corporate Diversity Leadership
General Mills Diversity Scholarship, General Mills, Inc.

Mike Shinn Distinguished Member of the Year (Male)
Carl McGill, Doctoral Candidate in Biomedical Engineering, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor

Alumni Extension Member of the Year
Ms. Ivy White, Central Ohio Alumni Chapter

Alumni Extension Technologist of the Year
Mrs. Jamie Haynes, Region V Member-At-Large, The Boeing Company

Past GTA Winners